Profile in Courage Award

Bi-Partisan Effort to Close California Budget Gap Recognized at 2010 JFK Profile in Courage Awards
May 24, 2010

Boston MA – The four members of California’s legislative leadership who in 2009 led a bi-partisan effort to close the state’s devastating budget deficit were presented the prestigious John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award™ today by Caroline Kennedy at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library.

Press Play to Watch the JFK Profile in Courage Award Ceremony

None of us allowed what was politically or personally advantageous to get in the way of following our conscience. And we didn’t let our differences blind us from seeing what was possible by working together … Courage is taking the hard road even when there is an easy way out.

– Mike Villines, Profile in Courage Award Recipient

Top Dog Award

Top Dog Award

Top Dog Award recipients are chosen from each of Fresno State University’s academic schools and colleges and from the Department of Athletics, the Henry Madden Library and the Divisions of Student Affairs and Graduate Studies.

2012 Top Dog Recipients

  • James “Bo” Barrett (Alumnus), a winemaker, the Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology.
  • Desa Belyea (1951), a retired newspaper editor, College of Arts and Humanities.
  • Nick Watney (Alumnus), a professional golfer, Department of Athletics.
  • Mark Shuster (1983, 1997), financial executive, Craig School of Business.
  • Mattie B. Meyers (1966), educator and community activist, Kremen School of Education and Human Development.
  • John Miyamoto (1985), global communications systems engineer, Lyles College of Engineering.
  • James Kennedy (1967, 1969), retired director of operations for the Gemini Observatory in Hawaii, Division of Graduate Studies.
  • Marion Karian (1965), founder of Exceptional Parents Unlimited, College of Health and Human Services.
  • G. Michael Graves (1973), a CPA and chief financial officer of a law firm, Henry Madden Library.
  • Harold Salwasser (1969), a dean of the College of Forestry at Oregon State University, College of Science and Mathematics.
  • Michael Villines (1990), former California Assembly member, College of Social Sciences.
  • Philip Stephens III (1937), whose life was spent helping Fresno State students facing physical challenges, Division of Student Affairs. (Awarded posthumously.)
Jefferson Award

Jefferson Award from ALEC

Mike received the Legislator of the Year Award from the American Legislative Exchange Council for recognition of his leadership in advancing public policy based on Fundamental Jeffersonian principles of free markets, limited government, federalism and individual liberty.